Airlines from Eritrea, Sudan and Djibouti Remain on EU Blacklist

2014 EU air safety list maintains Eritrean Airlines from flying EU skies
2014 EU air safety list maintains restrictions on Eritrean Airlines

By Capital Eritrea,

THE EUROPEAN Commission has updated for the 23rd time the European list of airlines subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union — better known as “the EU air safety list”.

The list contains banned Air Operator Certificate holders from more than 90 airlines, mainly from the African continent.

For instance, Eritrean Airlines (ERT) and Nasair (NAS) together with Sudan Airways, Daallo Airways (Djibouti) remain on the new list of airlines banned from European skies. 

Based on hearings of the EU Air Safety Committee, the Commission decided to remove all airlines from Swaziland from the EU safety list. There is also positive news for the Philippines, where Cebu Pacific Air is allowed to operate to the EU, and for Kazakhstan, where national carrier Air Astana is allowed to increase the number of its flights to the EU, the European Commission said.

Vice-President Siim Kallas, responsible for mobility and transport, said: “When countries do what it takes to ensure the safety of their aviation industry, it is important that the EU recognises these efforts.

The proof is the aviation safety progress we are witnessing in Africa. Swaziland is now the second country, after Mauritania, to be removed from the EU safety list.

Promising progress was also noted in Zambia, Mozambique, Sudan, and Libya, as well as in the Philippines and Kazakhstan.”

In addition progress was noted in Libya, which will maintain its voluntary restrictions not to fly to the EU — which they have applied since the Libyan revolution — as well as in a number of other countries whose carriers are on the black list, such as Sudan, Mozambique and Zambia. The EU Commission said that it is hoped that the continuation of this progress could lead to positive decisions in the future.

The new 2014 list replaces and updates the previous one, adopted in December 2013, and can be found here: Airline Blacklist to the EU.

– – – –