Azarya Weldemariam Won the Harakiri Mountain Race

News Sport
The rising new Mountain Runner star – Azarya Weldemariam of Eritrea


Azarya Weldemariam from Eritrea won the fourth edition of the Harakiri Mountain Race in Mayrhofen on 5 August.

270 athletes from more than 20 nations travelled to Mayrhofen to take on the challenge in wonderful weather conditions. The runners battled it out to the finishing line over a distance of 10.4 km and 1,170m in altitude. Weldemariam, last year’s winner in the men’s race, retained his crown with a time of 52:02.30.

For the first time this year, Mayrhofen was also host to the Tyrolean Championships with a designated race route for junior athletes. Simon Lechleitner (55:07.1) and Susanne Mair (1:07:38.4) claimed the victories.

Top athletes such as Markus Kröll, Gerrit Glomser, Jonathan Wyatt, ski jump legend Andreas Goldberger, Antonella Confortola and Emma Clayton returned again this year to the popular sporting region of Mayrhofen in Zillertal.

The men’s course record of exactly 50 minutes remains firmly in the hands of Azarya Weldemariam.