Berhane Claims ITT Title at the 2014 Eritrean National Championship

News Sport

In the women’s race,  Wehazit Kidane wins the title while Mosana Debesay claims 2nd followed by Tehaynesh Fetsum

Two of Eritrea's finest riders, Natnael Berhane (Europcar) and Daniel Teklehaimanot (MTN-Qhubeka)
Two of Eritrea’s finest riders, Natnael Berhane (Europcar) and Daniel Teklehaimanot (MTN-Qhubeka)

By CapitalEritrea,

NATNAEL Berhane (Europcar) wins the 2014 Eritrean National Individual Time Trial (ITT) Championship ahead of Daniel Teklehaimanot (MTN-Qhubeka) on Saturday. Mekseb Debesay finished 3rd.

The Europcar rider returned home to Eritrea after the Tour de Romandie to prepare for the Eritrean National Championships and is expected in France next week to be on the starting line for the Criterium du Dauphine race.

Along with the Tour de Suisse, the Criterium du Dauphine is an important race in the lead-up to the Tour de France in July, and it is part of the UCI World Ranking calendar.

The route is a mountainous area and therefore the winners often turns out to be a climbing specialists

In 2012 it was Daniel Teklehaimanot who took the first place at the Eritrean National Championship ahead of Natnael who finished 5th place.

Last year Metkel Kiflay won ahead of Meron Russom (MTN-Qhubeka) who came second.

– – – –