Cycling: 15 Nominees for the 2017 African Cyclist of the Year Trophy

Best African Cyclist of the year 2017 nominees
Among the 15 African riders nominated for the title of Best African Cyclist of the year 2017, five are Eritreans. (L-R): Mekseb Debesay, Meron Abraham, Merhawi Kudus, Tesfom Okubamariam, and Meron Teshome.


The organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo – whose 12th edition was held last February and March – unveiled the names of the 15 riders nominated for the title of best African cyclist of the year 2017.

Awarded since its creation in 2012, this trophy rewards ” the rider who, through his results on the continent and on the rest of the planet, has contributed the most to make African cycling  known”.

The winner will be elected by a jury chaired by Bernard Hinault (five-time winner of the Tour de France) as well as a selection of sports directors, coaches, leaders, African riders, African and European journalists.

The results will be given on December 20th.

The 15 nominees are:

  1. Meron Abraham (Eritrea)
  2. Meron Teshome (Eritrea – Bike Aid)
  3. Mekseb Debesay (Eritrea – Dimension Data)
  4. Merhawi Kudus (Eritrea – Dimension Data)
  5. Tesfom Okubamariam (Eritrea – Interpro Cycling Academy)
  6. Anass Ait El Abdia (Morocco – UAE Emirates)
  7. Joseph Areruya (Rwanda)
  8. Issiaka Cisse (Ivory Coast)
  9. Ahmed Amine Galdoune ( Morocco)
  10. Ryan Gibbons (South Africa – Dimension Data)
  11. Tsgabu Grmay (Ethiopia – Lampre Merida)
  12. Daryl Impey (South Africa – Orica-Scott)
  13. Louis Meintjes (South Africa) – Lampre Merida)
  14. Salaheddine Mraouni (Morocco – Kuwait-Cartucho)
  15. Willie Smit (South Africa)

Rewarded in 2016, the Eritrean Tesfom Okubamariam can retain its title, which has never happened since the creation of the prize in 2012.

Before him, Natnael Berhane (Eritrea), Louis Meintjes (Suth Africa), Mekseb Debesay (Eritrea) and Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eritrea) were successively elected.

Mekseb Debesay and Louis Meintjes can also put their names on the list for the second time.