Eritrea Set to Win the 2012 African Cycling Championship with a Style

News Sport Video
Team Eritrea members for the 2012 African Cycling Championship

By TesfaNews,

Africa’s undeterred cycling giant, Eritrea, has vowed to win what is going to be its third consecutive continental cycling championship that is planned to be held in Ouagadougou – Burkina Faso from November 6 to 11.

The seven men strong road cycling team will consist of the famous four professional cyclists as well as three other local talents by the name of Natnael Berhane (Europcar), Daniel Teklehaymanot (GreenEdge), Tesfom Okbamariam (Zoba Debub), Bereket Yemane (ASBECO), Meron Teshome (ASBECO), Frekalsi Debesai (MTN) and Janni Tewolde (MTN). 

Daniel Teklehaymanot, who is now a professional rider with the new Australian Pro Continental cycling team GreenEdge, was the 2010 African Cycling Champion by winning the individual time trial and team time trial at both senior and under-23 levels.

Natnael Berhane, also a professional rider with Team Europcar, was the 2011 African champion.

Frekalsi Debesai and Jani Tewolde are also from MTN-Qhubeka and considered as the back bone of the team. Later in September, MTN-Qhubeka has been elevated to Pro Continental level and become the first African team to obtain a Pro Continental status that paves the way for the team to participate in the Tour de France competition by 2015.

Team Eritrea is determined to make history by winning the race for the third time. However, it is expected to be a very challenging race taking in to account the very hot nature of the weather and the determination of other country’s teams who have been denied to redeem their old glory for two consecutive years by a bunch of young talents from Africa’s new cycling powerhouse – Eritrea.

If team Eritrea wins this edition of the African championship, whom do you think among the above seven team members named champion of 2012? Have your guess!