Metkel and Amanuel Joined Dimension Data WorldTour Squad

Sport News
DiData WorldTour
Team Dimension Data makes three new signings of trainees that includes two Eritrean professional riders, Metkel Eyob and Amanuel Gebreigzabhier. They are now joining the team’s WorldTour squad for the remainder of the 2016 season.

By Team Dimension Data,

Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka is happy to announce the signing of 3 stagiaires (trainees) for the remainder of the 2016 season. South African Ryan Gibbons as well as Eritreans Metkel Eyob and Amanuel Gebreigzabhier spent the first half of the season riding for our African team’s continental outfit.

21-year old Gibbons has enjoyed a solid season so far, his first ever in Europe. Eyob, who is one year older, was runner-up at the Eritrean Nationals behind Daniel Teklehaimanot and is the current U23 National champion of his country. Gebreigzabhier is also only 21 years of age, but showed his talent by winning the U23 African Continental title.

The three will join our WorldTour squad with immediate effect.

“Our major focus is to develop cycling across the African continent. Through our UCI Continental Team we are giving more riders the chance to succeed in international racing. To be able to bring these three incredibly talented African riders in to experience the setup and racing of our World Tour team is a fantastic achievement for the riders and testament to their hard work,” said Dimesion Data’s team Principal Douglas Ryder.

“If you add the support and commitment to providing bicycles to communities through the Qhubeka charity and how the team is leveraging its global exposure to support mobilising people on bicycles in South Africa, Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka is providing a bright future for many,” he concluded.

Six Eritrean Riders for DiData 2016 WorldTour Squad

DiData WorldTour

DiData WorldTour
Out of 31 riders in the team, Dimension Data WorldTour squad for 2016 will have six Eritrean professional riders. (L-R) : Natnael Berhane, Mekseb Debesay, Metkel Eyob, Amanuel Gebreigzabhier, Merhawi Kudus, and Daniel Teklehaimanot.