Norway Recognise Eritrea Higher Education

News Development
eritrea higher education
The Norwegian Agency for Quality Assurance in Education (NOKUT) officially accredited all Eritrean Higher Education qualifications (Certificate, Diploma, Degrees)

By TesfaNews,

The Norwegian Agency for Quality Assurance in Education (NOKUT) has given official recognition to all Higher Education qualifications from Eritrea and took action by including it on its database.

This official recognition comes three years after NOKUT and NUCAS, the Norwegian Universities and Colleges Admission Service, assess the scope, level and qualifications of the seven Higher Education Institutions in the country.

We hope that this information [database] will be useful for the higher education sector, the various approval offices and employers in their work with Eritrean qualifications,” said the statement posted on NOKUT website.

Eritrea has seen a change in its higher education system in the period 2004–2010. The country’s only accredited institution before higher education, the University of Asmara, was laid down and a number of its underlying faculties have restored to independent educational institutions in various parts of the country, and each of the institutions covers a single subject, which appears in the institution name.

>> READ : Ongoing Efforts to Bolster Quality Higher Education Institutions in Eritrea

The reform generally was not meant to introduce change in the system itself, but to change the number of institutions offering higher education in the country. As the result, higher education becomes more easily accessible to students living outside the capital for the first time.

NOKUT’s recognition of higher education from Eritrea, therefore, includes all qualifications from these seven state accredited Higher Education institutions and not to private institutions, although the legislation allows for this.

>> ALSO READ : ERITREA: Investing in Higher Education Key to Capacity Development

The seven Higher Educations institutions that are beneficiary from Norway’s accreditation, and by default by all Nordic countries, are:  the Eritrea Institute of Technology, Hamelmallo Agricultural College, College of Health Sciences, Orotta School of Medicine and Dental Medicine, College of Marine Sciences & Technology, College of Business and Economics, and the College of Arts and Social Sciences.